For Contributors

Editorial Policy

journal-mockupVoices of Democracy publishes reliable, authenticated primary texts, critical/interpretive scholarly essays, teaching-learning materials, and additional resources relating to great speeches and public debates in the United States. Voices of Democracy welcomes submissions that relate the study of speeches to one of the seven themes or deliberative topics of interest to the project: citizenship and civic identity, civil rights, freedom of speech, religion and morality in public life, social and economic justice, U.S. internationalism, and war and peace. Publications in Voices of Democracy are peer reviewed. Voices of Democracy will be published periodically, as the review, editing, and technical processing of submissions permits.

Submissions should be e-mailed in electronic form as Word documents to:

Shawn J. Parry-Giles at

All editorial inquiries should be directed to Shawn J. Parry-Giles at (301) 405-6527 or, J. Michael Hogan at 814-865-1003 or, or Skye de Saint Felix at

New curriculum units for the Voices of Democracy journal will be posted as they are accepted for publication.

Editorial Board


Shawn J. Parry-Giles, University of Maryland
J. Michael Hogan, Pennsylvania State University
Skye de Saint Felix, University of Maryland

Editorial Board:

Karrin Vasby Anderson, Colorado State University
Tim Barney, University of Richmond
Vanessa B. Beasley, Vanderbilt University
Thomas W. Benson, Pennsylvania State University
Jason Edward Black, University of North Carolina-Charlotte
Diane M. Blair, California State University, Fresno
Denise M. Bostdorff, The College of Wooster 
Lisa Corrigan, University of Arkansas
James Darsey, Georgia State University
Leroy G. Dorsey, Texas A&M University
Bonnie J. Dow, Vanderbilt University
Jeffrey P. Drury, Wabash College
Sara A. Mehltretter Drury, Wabash College
Sandra L. French, Radford University
Elizabeth Garner, Westmont College
Leslie Harris, UW-Milwaukee
David Henry, University of Nevada, Las Vegas
Amy Heyse, California State University, Long Beach
Lisa Shawn Hogan, Pennsylvania State University
Davis W. Houck, Florida State University
Richard Jensen, University of Nevada, Las Vegas
Andre Johnson, University of Memphis
Cheryl R. Jorgensen-Earp, Lynchburg College
James J. Kimble, Seton Hall University
James F. Klumpp, University of Maryland
Tiffany Lewis, City University of New York—Baruch
Shirley Wilson Logan, University of Maryland
Kristy Maddux, University of Maryland
Jennifer R. Mercieca, Texas A&M University
Eric Miller, Bloomsburg University of Pennsylvania
Charles E. Morris III, Syracuse University
John M. Murphy, University of Illinois
Lester C. Olson, University of Pittsburgh
Trevor Parry-Giles, University of Maryland
Garth E. Pauley, Calvin University 
Allison Prasch, University of Wisconsin-Madison
Angela Ray, Northwestern University
Cindy Koenig Richards, Willamette University
Alyssa Samek, Califormia State University, Fullerton
Belinda A. Stillion Southard, University of Georgia
Bjørn F. Stillion Southard, University of Georgia
Mary Stuckey, Pennsylvania State University
Dave Tell, University of Kansas
Robert Terrill, Indiana University
Eric King Watts, University of North Carolina
Kirt H. Wilson, Pennsylvania State University
Carly Woods, University of Maryland
David Zarefsky, Northwestern University

Copyright Information

Voices of Democracy: The U. S. Oratory Project, College Park, MD 20742-7635

© Copyright 2008 by Voices of Democracy: The U. S. Oratory Project. All rights reserved.

The author of an essay or text published in Voices of Democracy may reprint all or part of the essay or text elsewhere without fee, provided that an Editor of Voices of Democracy is notified in advance, an application for permission is completed and approved, and full credit is given for the original publication. An application for permission to reprint material originally published in Voices of Democracy should be addressed to the Editors of Voices of Democracy: The U. S. Oratory Project (Shawn Parry-Giles at (301) 405-6527 or or J. Michael Hogan at 814-865-1003 or Voices of Democracy: The U. S. Oratory Project requires assignment of copyright from authors.